A San Francisco Wedding…

…for one of my longest friends, so I was very honored to make the cake for her wedding. Plus, her cake inspirations were gorgeous so I knew that I would be making a pretty little cake.

This cake and I got pretty close since I had to drive with it…staring at it and making sure nothing happened…for four hours.

I got a fantastic new teal cake plate that I couldn’t wait to photograph this cake on:

photo 3

I hand-painted gold drippings on both tiers and in this picture, it’s still a little wet (patience, what?) but it dried to a gorgeous finish for the wedding.

The hubby and I made it to the reception site with minutes to spare, so I snapped a picture to prove that the cake had made it in one piece and we were off to the ceremony site in the city at Notre Dame Des Victoires.

DSC_0041

The ceremony was gorgeous:

AllieWedding (1)

After spending time in this beautiful church, it was back to the reception site – The Basque Cultural Center. Yep, a French Basque wedding, where the food did not disappoint.

Europeans sure know how to eat dinner…multiple, multiple courses. And plenty of wine. And did I mention that some of the courses are cheese and the most delectable meats (like prosciutto! I would give up just about anything for some prosciutto!)?

AllieWedding (4)

And the bride’s taste did not disappoint…gorgeous peony centerpieces!

AllieWedding (5)

After a great evening it was cake time! I wonder if I can make a cake out of prosciutto?

AllieWedding (2)

AllieWedding (3)

A little friendly smash:

photo 2

photo 4

And here’s the couple during their first dance:

photo 1

Awww….weddings are THE best.

Leave a Reply

