You win some, you lose some.

With the latest flower I molded out of fondant and gumpaste, it was both.

I love the look of that big peony on a cake and knew that was exactly what I wanted for an upcoming styled shoot I have. After searching online for how to make one, most people said they used “peony cutters.” Okay, let me get some of those… $18.00? Ugh, no thanks. Next online search, “Peonies without peony cutters.”

Ding, ding, ding! I found this blog post: How to Make a Gumpaste Peony Without a Peony Cutter

And with just a few quick cuts with the ruffled heart cookie cutter, I had this:

photo

So where’s the “lose some” you ask? That flower was actually the second one I made. Oh man, you should see the first one. Actually, you probably shouldn’t, but I’ll show you what not to do in hopes you can avoid all that wasted time and effort.

  • Do not roll out your fondant/gumpaste too thick.
  • Do not under-ruffle (technical term) the edges.

If you manage to do these two things I told you not to do, you will have this:

Image-1

It’s hard to believe these two flowers were created using the same tools.

I get sad every time I look at that photo.

I can’t wait to try (and mess up) some other new flowers in the future!

Leave a Reply

