Modeling Chocolate Roses …and Charity!

My latest cake has been the most fun project I’ve had…the problem is that I can’t share the whole thing with you yet. BUT…I can show you the roses I made out of modeling chocolate.

In the past I’ve used fondant and gumpaste to make flowers, but I’ve been wanting to try something new.

Modeling chocolate tastes better (I mean, you can’t go wrong with chocolate) and it’s very forgiving…that’s good and bad. I had to assemble the finishing touches of my cake in the freezing cold garage to keep the flowers well defined.

I love the look of them and can’t wait to make some more cakes using this technique.

photo 3

photo 2

photo 1

I also got to donate this finished cake to the Ronald McDonald house and bring some sugar and smiles to families and children healing together.

5 thoughts on “Modeling Chocolate Roses …and Charity!

Leave a Reply

