I do!

When I was first asked to make a wedding cake, I was extremely nervous.

I had about 5 decorated cakes under my belt…and a wedding cake seems so…important.

Fortunately, my first wedding cake was just one tier to complement the cake pops the bride had ordered:

WeddingCake_white

Next Up? A cake for my future mother-in-law’s wedding. Three tiers to match the colors of the wedding, strawberry, vanilla and chocolate…a Neapolitan delight! I hand placed rhinestones on the three ribbons to give this cake some extra sparkle and handmade the fondant roses cascading down in ombre style.

WeddingCake_whiteandpink

It’s amazing to me how each cake can be so different and something I’ve never really done before. Fondant was my jam, but my bride wanted a rustic buttercream cake – three tiers (two strawberry, one very vanilla with real vanilla bean) and a chocolate sheet cake.

WeddingCake_rustic

This has turned into one of my most favorite cakes.

Can I prove that? Yes! For my wedding just a few months later…a smaller, slightly altered version:

WeddingCake_rustic2

And last up, as I try to catch this blog up on all my past work, was a pink and black cake using the Chantilly lace technique.

WeddingCake_pinkandblack

I love doing wedding cakes…probably because I love weddings so much (especially after experiencing my own)! What a truly awesome day for brides and their families!

Leave a Reply

