And so it begins…

When I took a basic cake decorating class almost two years ago, I never could have imagined it going anywhere. Now, close to 50 cakes later, my website is almost complete and I’m just a tiny smidge closer to having this be more than a hobby.

With a full-time job (that does not involve powdered sugar and sprinkles, unfortunately), two dogs and a husband, sometimes the only time I have a chance to get cakes done is early in the morning (I’ve made a couple batches of fondant at 6 a.m.), lunch breaks (I’ve definitely frosted my fair share of cakes instead of eating a sandwich), or late late at night (my oven has been used many times around midnight). It’s all been so worth it, however, and I feel very lucky that I found something I can share with people that makes them smile.

Fortunately, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth so I can bake away without my waistline suffering…from the cakes, at least. If I was making french fries and potato chips, this would be a completely different story.

Leave a Reply

